Offseason Power Ranking Prep

Well, hello there! It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? Some of you may be wondering if I’d abandoned this active blog after the 2013 season came to an end. Nay, I say. Nay!

My almost total absence during the offseason was due to my own inclinations about writing up stories that generally fall under one of three categories during this time of year:

– Players and coaches talking up their teams
– Injuries/Suspensions/Law troubles
– Premature power rankings/predictions

Now that August has arrived, and the preseason is right around the corner, I will be doing what I did last year: a divisional power ranking system heading into the regular season. There will be discussion about last season, any significant offseason additions/subtractions and, in the most reserved amount of guesswork I’ll allow myself, an estimation of each team’s potential to make the playoffs in 2014.

We’ll go in this order:

AFC
NFC

And then…

East
North
South
West

So, my next post will be a run-down of the AFC East and my last, before the regular season kicks off (guaranteed!) will be the NFC West. Got it? Good.

As always, I’m pumped about the upcoming season. Last year, the kevtalksnfl blog was in a trial run, fiddling with format and style, but by the end of the season my two main columns (Tuesday Morning Double-Back aka TMD-B and the Sunday Primer) were fine-tuned and perfected. So, expect those columns throughout the year, along with my quarterly power rankings and the occasional extra post in between. My goal is to not only be as active as I was, but to squeeze more content in for your reading pleasure.

I hope all who followed me last year will continue to do the same. I do this because I love the sport, but it’s always a pleasure to know that at least one other person out there is enjoying my work here as well.

So, in summary: I’m here to stay, there’s some good stuff coming, stay tuned and here’s to an awesome 2014 NFL season! Get pumped!

Ahnold is pumped!

Leave a Reply

